DIY Pinterest Inspired Cake Donuts

Hi Friends!

Long time no see, but today I wanted to share how to make these Pinterest inspired donuts! I couldn’t help to re create these donuts that I saw on Pinterest. They were too cute to pass up. I also wanted to take the chance to show how to make your standard cake donuts. I’m not one to order cake donuts but these were very yum! Made me reconsider my whole outlook on cake donuts. But with further ado lets get straight to baking.

This is the only case where my video, linked down below, is a bit more descriptive than on this post.

Ingredients:

Yield-12 Large Donuts

  • 1/4 cup Soft butter
  • 1/4 cup Vegetable oil
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 1/3 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp. Nutmeg
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 2 2/3 Cup All purpose Flour
  • 1 Cup Milk

Standard Glaze Recipe:

Yield- 1/2 cup

  • 1 1/2 Cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. Light Corn Syrup
  • 1-2 Tbsp. Milk/Water
  • Food Coloring
  1. Go ahead and mix all of your dry ingredients except your sugars.
  2. Cream together your oil, soft butter, sugar and brown sugar.
  3. add in your eggs and vanilla extract. One egg at a time until incorporated.
  4. Add flour mixture alternately with milk. Beginning and ending with flour mixture. Don’t over mix.
  5. Pipe donuts into donut pan and tap out any air bubbles.
  6. Bake at 425F for approximately 10-15 until set.
  7. Once baked, turn pan over immediately onto cooling rack to cool.
  8. Make a two times of the standard glaze recipe.
  9. To make glaze, just mix all ingredients together until smooth and lump free. Add more powdered sugar if glaze is too runny, add more milk/water if too thick.
  10. Divide glaze into four bowls. Color each bowl with desired colors. I used white/black/pink/brown.
  11. Divide donuts into thirds. Dip each third with white/pink/brown.
  12. I took some brown glaze in a piping bag and striped on some diagonal lines on both sides of the brown donut to create some diamond shapes, to create the illusion of a ice cream cone.
  13. Now I’m just using some black glaze in a piping back and drawing on the eyes on each donut. Please refer to the video/photo to see which eye shapes I chose. Once I have drawn them on, I used some more glaze to draw on a dripping effect on the donuts and then sprinkled on some sprinkles I had in my pantry before the glaze set. So they can stick on nicely.
  14. Taking some tempered white chocolate I piped on some ear shapes onto parchment and ended the ears with a upside triangle. Just to making it easier to insert the ears onto the donuts. Let your tempered chocolate set until hard.
  15. Once the chocolate has set lets carefully take a knife and stab the donuts where the ears will be placed. Once that is done insert your ears, and you’ve created little donut figures! 🙂
  16. Last step, but crucial, we have to hide the ears. So just taking some more complimentary glazes I covered the chocolate ears. I found it easier to just put the glaze in piping bags and drizzled on the glaze until I saw no more Chocolate.
  17. And we are finished!

Again, please refer to my youtube video. It will help so much visually on how to achieve the adorable Donuts!

Thank you guys so much! I can’t wait to share more videos/tips!

Leave a comment