How to Make Perfect Swiss Meringue Buttercream with 3 Ingredients!

Hi guys!

I just quickly wanted to share how to make my GO TO swiss meringue buttercream. I literally use this for everything! It is the perfect buttercream in my opinion. Not too sweet, not too bland. It’s literally perfect!

Heck, you can even spread this on a piece of toast, as so my mother does. Let me tell you, she is as picky as a cactus. But she also swears by this buttercream, it amazes me. Like mother like daughter I guess haha!

Okay I am not going to let this get lengthy!

And as always I’ve attached a how to video I have posted from my youtube channel! πŸ™‚

 


Swiss Meringue Buttercream

  • Egg Whites 5 each
  • Granulated Sugar 1 Cup
  • Unsalted Butter 1 pound, Softened
  • Extract of your choice (optional) 1 tsp
  1. Boil about 3 cups of water in a pot. Once it is boiling, go ahead and place your egg whites and sugar in a heat safe bowl and place it on top of the pot with boiling water. Go ahead and lower the temperature so the water is at a simmer.
  2. You want to keep mixing the egg whites and sugar mixture with a whisk constantly. If not you will cook your eggs. We are now just posterizing our egg whites so they become safe to consume. You want the mixture to reach approximately 140F in your thermometer.
  3. once you have reached the desired temperature go ahead and turn off the stovetop and with a dry cloth remove the hot bowl from the pot, and transfer the egg whites and sugar to a stand mixer fixed with a whip attachment. Begin whipping on the highest setting until doubled in size, and cool to the touch, stiff peaks. You know its ready when you rotate the bowl 180 degrees and the meringue doesn’t budge.
  4. Once the meringue has cooled we are now going to add in our softened butter. Put your mixer in medium low power and begin adding your butter in four increments, making sure the butter is incorporated before adding the next increment.
  5. Now go ahead and roar your mixer on the highest setting again, after a minute go ahead and add in your extract of choice, optional.
  6. Your buttercream will look curdled for a few seconds, but it will surely become smooth and glossy in no time. Just give it some breathing room, trust me πŸ™‚
  7. You know your buttercream is done when it is stiff peaks and its nice and glossy!
  8. Buttercream can be stored out in room temperature for 3-5 days, if you plan to use it later just keep in the fridge for about 1-2 weeks. Just depends on the environment.
  9. Thats it! Easy peasy lemon squeezy

If you guys are having troubles, sent me a quick comment, and I can help troubleshoot. I got chu!

Until Next time!!!!

-Brittny

Leave a comment